Nixie Tube Module

I stumbled across this and had to have one! Nixie Module -Limited (Arduino Compatible)-DFRobot

Now the only problem is the driver is for Arduino, I have zero experience with SPI and porting drivers, and next to no C++ experience. Oh well… how hard can it be?

2 Likes

Actually it shouldn’t be that hard, the most difficult thing you will encounter is updating calls to STD or STL, or other libraries that do not have a C# equivalent, but a search for what the function does, expects and returns will ease this pain a lot.

1 Like

I’ve looked at the Arduino code. They just bit bang the pins. Easy to do in netmf. Be careful with nixies (high voltage).

1 Like

Yup I’ll keep my claws off the conductors! I’ve got 8 years experience troubleshooting avionics hardware… so it’s the code part that’s dangerous for me :wink:

It’ll probably be a couple weeks before I can really get in there and try to port it over.

Now that would be a lovely module. I like the Acrylic covers they put on them for a bit of protection.

1 Like

Yeah Hackaday featured these a while back and I came across the article. Tons of bellyaching about the price in the comments… meanwhile I’m looking at the stout looking construction and quality hardware and thinking about how much time and money it would take me to come [em]nowhere close[/em] to how good these things look.

Personally i dont think the price is that high. There is a lot of components and time gone into the design. The PCB’s are not expensive especially using the DFRobot PCB service. The quality is great. the nixie tubes etc, i have no idea how much they are individually. With your background in avionics you should be ahead of the curve on designing the modules. Im sure there would be a few takers on this forum who would help with the software side.

I have a bunch of these tubes and some other types. Love nixies. I have built several Ice Tube clocks for friends and family.