Newbe question: Mini robot kit vs Panda/Domino + parts

I getting close to getting into the FEZ game. For my first project I think I would like to make an obstacle avoiding bot - either a maze or in an open room. (my background is C# development, with virtually zero hardware experience)

I’m considering 2 paths:

1. MIni robot kit + Sharp distance sensor
  • or -
  1. Get different parts:
    Panda/Domino
    Motor shield
    Component shield
    Tread + chassis
    Dual motor and gear box (Tamiya ?)
    1 or 2 Sharp distance sensors

Option 2 is a bit more expensive, but not a lot, so price wouldn’t be the decider.

Other than putting together myself, are there any benefits to option 2 over 1? How about 1 over 2?

Thinking long term, I could think of having my little bot map the area - using data from GPS/distance or another sensor, logging data to the mini SD card or via WiFi. But that would be a while from now.

Thanks!

I am interested in what people have to say about this. I am also considering a starter robot kit.

For future flexibility I plan to use a domino. I have a working USB gps, and the domino has a sd facility.

I guess I just answered the question.

Beware Long Winded Post Below.

First things first you have to decide what you want to do with the robot.
Seems you have that in order at least.

Now the differnces between making your own kit and buy one.

My first robot was a kit robot. I love it. I stits on my desk and collects dusk. I did everything you can do with it with out replacing the electronics and modifying the hardware. If you are a pure robotics beginner i would suggest a premade kit.

That being said i don’t mean one you buy and slap together. You can look up simple instructions to turn a breadboard into a kit robot. Two servos some double sided tape, batterys and half a tennis ball you you can have a robot. Its very cheap and somewhat expandable.