Help building robotic arm from scratch

Hi -
I’d like to make a programmable robotic arm as a learning project with my kids using the Fez. I’m a newbie to this site, so I apologize up front if these questions have already been covered.

I’ve seen the sample Robot Arm Project under the Projects tab called RobotArmMP3, and I was wondering the following:

1. Can someone please recommend a basic robot arm Technical Drawing for the standard shoulder, elbow, wrist, and grip movements along with a Parts List? I’d prefer to do it from scratch, to learn how to program the dc motors and servos, and when to use which - instead of buying a robotic arm that has been pre-assembled.

2. Might not be the right place to ask this, but here goes … Has anyone noticed that at http://www.tinyclr.com/hardware/1/fez-domino/ each of the following parts are available to be purchased - the Domino, the component shield, the LEDs, and button, but the FEZ Domino Starter Kit which contains all of them is not available until July 8th??

Thanks for your help. Really looking forward to getting going on my project - this all looks very cool!:expressionless:

Hi Chris,

Sure. First of all you said you would like this as a learning proces for servo/dc motors.
You can buy the parts for a robotic arm, but still program it yourself.

If you would like to build your own arm, the best thing you can do is search the internet for images. You can learn a lot from them.

If you are planning on buying arm parts, without servo motors, please make sure to buy high torque servo motors. I have made a mistake with my robot and therefor it has a hard time to stand up and it will cost me more money. If I checked well, it would have saved me money at this point.

For information about servo motors, you can check the servo page which I added: (but I guess you have seen this)
(link removed)

Also, here are some images which might help you planning: