Gadgeteer - Ray-casting engine V0.1

Hi,

This week-end I started playing around with RLP, this is some seriously nice technology. I hope Microsoft picks up on this and adds native support for a similar interop story, I do not say this because I think the there is anything wrong with GHI’s offering, on the contrary, it is great and I think everyone should have this as a standard solution with native integration into the .NET solution.

Anyway, here is a short video of what I have done today. This is truly version 0.1 code, it was written to work, I will now start optimizing the code and if I am able to achieve sufficient level of optimization I will add texture-mapped walls for that real Wolfenstein look :).

What optimization will I do

1. Change all floating point calculation to fixed point
  2. Point 1 will introduce look-up for all the trig functions which I believe will make huge difference
  3. Optimize the rendering to use inline asm.

For point 3, Can anyone suggest any good sources for learning ARM assembly? I am not a complete newbie to asm, I am familiar with x86, Z80, can read 6502 (Yes, ZX Spectrums and C64 are from my era :))

I know, I need to get my camera situation sorted out…

2 Likes

ooo

Good start!

Looking good. This is exactly the sort of thing I was trying to get my head around last week. (And failed miserably)

Good start. I am sure you can make this faster :slight_smile:

Do want! Amazing work man, keep it up! :smiley:

Awesome stuff!!!

Is there anything Gadgeteer can’t do?

Hi,

Here is a quick update, I got a few hours in today to do a few performance optimizations and added the texture mapping support. I got a little ahead of myself, since there are still a few obvious opitmizations to do, but that will need to wait for another week-end.

2 Likes

You have texture and it is faster :slight_smile: Nice work.

Thanks Gus, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance I could get with RLP.