Firmware/Application Corruption

Hi all,
I’m still learning some of the hardware side of this. I have a product that uses the SC20260D SITcore module, and between 4 and 5% of them will fail after a few months due to corrupted firmware or application, necessitating a module replacement. I usually have to start it in loader mode and erase everything, and redeploy the application to recover the module, but I’ve had about 3 or 4 that are completely bricked and do not respond at all, at least to the config tool.

Where do I even start? Is this just the nature of the beast, or are there poor electrical design choices that can affect the deployment region of the flash? I have only ever seen issues when the unit is powered off during a read or write, but that never happens to this memory, if I understand it properly. This failure rate just seems high, so I want to dig into my board design to make sure that I’m not causing any problems, but I don’t even really know what to look for unless I know the mechanism by which this flash can fail.

Do you extend deployment to external flash? Do you write to external flash at run time?

I do extend deployment to external flash. There is really no way around that as the program is too large.

What firmware installed please?

2.1.0.6. This is a slightly older version, waiting to fully vet out our production application which uses 2.2.

That is fine but do you write to flash at runtime? Like to store data?

Yes I do - I’m going through SecureStorage. Is this physically the same flash that is used for deployment?

Secure storage uses internal flash memory, not external. It is same flash used for firmware and for deployment. It is an independent sector and should not cause firmware corruption.

Do you regularly write to flash at runtime, like to secure storage? Is it an option to try to run without writing to flash to see if the problem goes away?