Cerbuino RTC help

Hi all,

I’ve been playing around with my shiny new Cerbuino Bee, and I’m making a lot of progress. Now the time has come where I need a real time clock. Can anybody advise on how to connect the crystal and 3V battery? I’m a solid programmer, but somewhat of an electronics novice.

Cheers.

Hi ThirdHorizon,

welcome to the forums. Obviously nobody does know otherwise they may have answered you the first time. I’ll take a look at the schematics and see what I can see and will post back here shortly

OK, here goes.

VBAT pin appears to be on the Adruino header in the regular position. According to the image, the silkscreen shows it at “BAT”, right on the end of the header run near LED2. That needs to be connected to your coin cell’s + side. While talking about the coin cell, do you have a standard holder for it?

Then you need to solder the RTC crystal onto the correct location. Here’s where I struggle, because it doesn’t seem that there are pads to install it (like there are on the Hydra or Cerb40 for example). Gus/GHI team might have to tell us what pins you need to solder these to.

The RTC pins are exposed on the arduino-headers. We will detail this in the wiki.

Ah, if I understand the schematic, it looks like it’s pins D4 and D5. I’ll look out for the wiki update.

Yes, I have a standard holder for the coin cell.

Thanks Gus and Brett!

Any updates on this, Gus?

I forgot about it, sorry :slight_smile: Will pass it on to the right person to work on it.

They are D3 (PC14) and D4 (PC15). Not D4, D5

I have a cerbuino that I would like to stop setting the current time. If I have a crystal and a battery. Do I need anything else? I have been reading confusing items about certain caps, etc. Please clear this up for me.

The wiki was greatly improved since this post was made. Please take a look http://wiki.tinyclr.com/index.php?title=Cerb-Family

Thanks for the update on the wiki pages for the RTC. I have a couple of questions