Yet another watering project

Hi all!
I’m a long time developer, first-time duino projecteer.

I purchased a basic kit + a moisture sensor to figure out what all the hype is about, and what would you know - I fell for it!

Before I order more components, I was wondering a couple of questions:

• Does the WiFI-RS21 work with the Hydra? I need to report readings wirelessly to the cloud, and wifi seems to be the only solution.

• I was hoping to buy cheap NFC tags and stick them on various plants and have my hydra project serve as a “plant calibrator” - but there is no NFC module on GHI. Do you have some tips for me on that?

My first blog on the project can be seen here:
http://pedro.digitaldias.com/?p=278

Looking forward to reading your comments

Pedro G. Dias

Norway

1 Like

Oh! Premium and opensource boards are incompatible!? Thats a bummer :frowning:
Had I known, I would have opted for a premium board at once - Wifi is fairly essencial to this project

The WiFi Cobra-II would be ideal for this project it sounds.

i think andre.m suggestion of using xbee is good. have you tried it? i think you’ll find it probably will work for you and probably much more cost effective. almost everything i build communicates back to my PC through xbee and have no issues w/ it in my home…i get good reads from basement to attic.

Naw, thats overkill for my needs. I am just after measuring some plant-specific stats (moisture, humidity, temperature, light) and reporting to a service somewhere.

Is there a tutorial for using XBee on the hydra board for WiFi? I am completely new to the duino world, and even though I will probably go for some low-level driver writing further down the line, right now all I want is for my project to land :slight_smile:

Andre, that topic raises more questions than it answers :slight_smile:

So to be clear:

If I understand correctly,

• the XBee needs to be bought in pairs: one for my hydra board (transmitter) and one for a computer somewhere (receiver).