Xbee Tutorials and Catalog support

I’ve scanned through a lot of posts and gave up after several pages…so forgive me if this has already been asked.

Coming from a brand new gadgeteer, I’d like to setup the most basic setup: Using Hydra with a joystick module and a Xbee module. User moves joystick, which sends commands ‘up/down/left/right’ through the serial port on the Xbee. The other end doesn’t even matter right now, but I plan to use an Arduino to receive the messages. (but for the example here, lets just say a Cerberus Bee is receiving it)

Your documentation in the catalog isn’t complete, but it refers to a youtube video that honestly, as a total beginner, didn’t get me very far. Yes it goes through some basics - but what he’s doing in the video isn’t what I’m looking to do. So I can’t go from A to C, without knowing what B is. Another project shows a coordinator, router, and endpoint. All of which is way over my head right now…I just want a sender and receiver here.I know I can figure this out if I continue to bang away at it, but for me this wasn’t ‘FEZ’.

Again, I tried searching through the forum to find some basics - but all of them end up doing something that’s way above over me. (the one on the RC controls was good…but again, the comments inside didn’t help for someone that’s never touched a xbee before).

Finishing my long winded plea for help, I’m not looking for someone to write up a tutorial. In fact, I will volunteer to write one up myself after I’m done writing my first project with xbee…and humbly submit it. Can anyone drop some links on me that will help? (I’ve been through youtube, they weren’t that useful to me - not enough hand holding…yes, I’m a child and need my hand held for this).