Working through the beginners guide, confusion reigns

Hi,

Total noob, first post. Know nearly nothing about electronics and microcontrollers, but a fair programmer. Got a project I want to use an STM32F4 Discovery for, but I’m falling at every hurdle it seems.

I am working through the beginners guide published here http://www.ghielectronics.com/downloads/FEZ/Beginners%20guide%20to%20NETMF.pdf and got as far as using MFDeploy to test my board. I plugged it in but Windowns did not ask for drivers as I’ve plugged it in many times before. I checked the drivers using Windows Devices and printers page (the board is identified as an STlink dongle), and there are two: usbfilter.sys (from AMD) adn WinUSB.sys from Microsoft. All options to update, remove, modify drivers are greyed out. The Guide recommends to “provide them from the SDK”, but I cannot find any reference to “driver” or “.sys” or “stlink” anywhere (except in the CooCox, which I also have installed, along with about a dozen other IDEs…)

How do I install the correct drivers for my STM32f4 and get Mfdeploy to talk to it?

I’ve installed everything; C# visual studio 2010 express, framework 4.2, even the porting kit although I’m not sure I need it or indeed what it does or is. I’ve got as far as running the “hello world” program in the emulator, but I can’t talk to the board.

All advice gratefylly received

:wink: Ian

MFdeploy does not display anything when I select USB.

What device are you using?

He’s using an STM32F4Discovery.