Workflow for Designing PCBs

As a Software Developer, I have tools and workflows to break down complexity, into pieces I can build. Mostly though I have a workflow: a system of steps that I used to get the project completed. I have this for the software but what do we do for PCB’s? I find that I get bogged down searching for components and footprints, spending more time on that than schematic capture or pcb layout. I see lots about board layout and schematic capture, but what about the process of developing footprints and validating them.

So far my workflow goes like this:

• Create Schematic Libs of components
  • Create Footprints of Components
  • Capture Schematic
  • [haze of confusion]
  • Layout PCB?
  • (I’m adding a new step called Send to Actual Eng to correct and validate)
  • Send to PCB Fabricator
  • Send to PCB Assembly
  • Start Over because 1 component footprint was supposed to be viewed from the bottom up not the top down
    so the pinout is reversed.

I’ll draw something once I have it all figured, but as of now it’s very up in the air.

2 Likes

for creating libraries footprints this free tool might help. http://www.pcblibraries.com Another free download that might help during PCB design is at Saturn PCB Toolkit - Saturn PCB Design | Saturn PCB Design

Make your own library parts or if you do use a 3rd party one, verify it 1000% before you use it. I’ve been stung before with this so I now do my own. Print out at 1:1 and check the new parts to make sure the pads are correct.

Altium has a footprint generator that makes quick work of SMD parts. Once you are used to how the library editor works, it is quiet quick to make new parts but verification needs to be done.

1 Like

So you basically trust no one? My plan was to print it out and glue the components to the paper to be sure. I was also considering using toner transfer to make the top layer as a sanity check.