WiFiG25 SOM with Wi-Fi

Its crazy how much they pack on a board nowadays, yet keeping the cost very low.

Now this board would be a perfect .netmf board, IMHO of course :wink:

I bet this is not FCC CE which makes it useless

1 Like

Sure fro hobbyists. You really can’t make a product based on this, not in USA or Europe.

Even the misleading C(hina)E(xport) logo is missing :smiley:

30$ is interesting for such an OEM product and CE testing can be done by the end user in a final product. Or do i miss something?

Would you not have to do CE testing on your whole product anyway? I’ve no experience in this area, so it’s just wondering out loud.

1 Like

Correct but it is $5 vs 100K that is assuming you passed. I forgot to mention the wifi certification too

So if your individual components are already certified, it makes a product certification significantly cheaper to achieve?

Testing a product is easy, testing wireless product is not easy at all. Testing a product with a wireless module that has already been tested is easy… which is why WiFi modules cost so much money. It is the money put into certifications.

1 Like

Aha, makes sense.

And then you have UL testing, something that we as a battery manufacturer are obliged to if we want to be able to ship the goods…

Yep, certification testing affects the bottom line on wireless modules; unless you’re going to amortize the cost over 100K modules, you’re going to need them to be expensive.

you can get a bit closer to certification with this one using a OEM WIFI module.

1 Like

The one thing I would also add about armdevs is lack of direct support from the manufacturer. There is a forum but it’s not frequented by any of the manufacturers support guys so you’re on your own with them. I’ve used a few of their boards in the past for Android development but gave up on them due to minor issues and no support.