WiFi RN171 - Default settings

I started playing with my new WiFi RN171 module but I could not get the device initialized using the driver that ships with the latest GHI SDK. Fortuantely it was quite clear what the problem was, I was getting garbage from the serial interface which normally indicates that the serial port is not configured correctly.

It turns out my module was set out of the box to run at a baud rate of 115200. The driver however assumes that the baud rate is 9600 which is the specified default in the datasheet.

I was able to discover this by connecting to the device using a telnet client on my iPad. The telnet IP/port was
192.168.1.1:80

@ Gus - It might be worth having the developer page for the module updated with all the settings that deviate from the defaults specified in the datasheet. The sample code there will also not compile, it is a minor problem, but someone still learning C# might find this to be an additional hurdle.

The is really a very exciting module, I can’t wait to connect it to my FEZ Cerbot and have the PC sending it instructions! This might be a nice way to interactively tune the PID for the balancing of the robot… Thanks for the great module!

1 Like

Interesting. I was going to use Bluetooth module for that purpose.

We will take care of this quickly. Thanks

@ Architect - I definitely need to get a Bluetooth module…

@ Gus - Thank you. As I am exploring the module, I am finding a few driver issues. How would you like me to report them? I have used reflector to get the driver code and I tweaking it to overcome any issues I find and I would like to share those back somehow.

I’ve been tinkering with the RV-XV module on a Fez Cerbuino Bee board. I didn’t even notice GHI had a driver for this RN171 based module until now! I was using the NETMF TOOLBOX driver located here: http://netmftoolbox.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Toolbox.NETMF.Hardware.WiFlyGSX&referringTitle=Toolbox.NETMF.NET.WiFlySocket