What is the right way to do serial port I/O?

I’m new to the .NETMF and Gadgeteer world but am incredibly impressed so far. I went from not even being aware this technology existed last Wednesday to a crude but complete prototype application for controlling an autonomous profiling oceanographic instrument platform today. So far, my priority has been getting something running in a hurry to see how the whole process goes. Now that I’ve got something working, I’d like to go back and clean up some of my shortcuts. My first issue is understanding how to write serial port I/O so it is “non-blocking” In my instrument platform there is a pressure transducer connected to a DGH current loop to RS232 converter. The pressure transducer is exposed to seawater pressure at whatever depth the instrument is at. This part of my application reads the pressure transducer, runs a PID control algorithm calculation and sets the speed of a motor (also a RS232 device) that pumps oil in and out of a bladder that change the platform’s buoyancy so it rises or sinks to the desired depth.

Here is what I did for the serial port I/O to get something working in a hurry.

//DGH stuff
            int DGHReadCount = 0;
            int DGHBytesRead = 0;

byte[] DGHTxBytes;
            byte[] DGHRxBytes = new byte[2];
            byte[] DGHRxByteArray = new byte[20];
            byte[] strippedDGHRxByteArray = new byte[15];

char[] DGHRxCharArray = new char[20];

string DGHRead = "$1RD\r";       //$1RD terminated with CR is the command to read data from the DGH
            string DGHRxString = "";

double pressureDBar = 1000.0;
            double ma2bar = (15.0/1.45038) / 16.0;     //4-20 ma transducer; 15 psig full scale; 1 dBar = 1.45038 psi
            double maOffset = 4.0;

//Setup the DGH RS232 port for the pressure transducer
            SerialPort DGHPort = new SerialPort("COM1", 38400, Parity.None, 8, StopBits.One);
            DGHPort.ReadTimeout = 0;
            DGHPort.Open();