What hardware do you recommend?

I am a C# developer with no experience with microcontrollers. Now I want to build a small device which should water my garden.

This device should do nothing else than except commands over WiFi (802.11b or better) to switch 9 relays (1x220V + 8x24V). And it should be as cheap as possible.

I looked at several mainboards GHI offers and what I like most so far is the Cerbuino. Compared to the Cerberus (and Hydra) I wouldn’t need the USB Client DB Module and the XBee Adapter Module (it has to run 24/7 without a computer). I like the plug and play design from Gadgeteer. As I have almost no electronics experience this is exaclty what I need.

Now to my questions:

1. When do you estimate to be able to ship the Cerbuino?
  2. How long will the firmware need to be finished? Can I do anything without it?
  3. What else do I need to connect it to my WiFi? Can you give me an url to a good XBee WiFi module?
  4. Are there any bigger relay modules/shields available? I would need 3 modules with 4 relays each. Can I use 3 such modules at the same time with the Cerbuino? It does have 3 Y sockets, so it should be possible.
  5. Or should a beginner refrain from the Cerbuino for now and take a Panda II? Hydra and Spider are to expensive, there I would prefer a Netduino (Go) instead.

Another pro of the Cerbuino is the microSD slot. Currently I plan to make a small application on my webserver which I can use to control the watering system. If the Cerbuino is strong enough, then I could also move this app to the Cerbuino completely. But this would just be a pet project and is no requirement.

Michael, welcome to the community!