Watchdog and Spider

G’day,

Has anyone had issues with the Watchdog as per the Wiki Tutorial and the Spider?

My board just keeps rebooting when using the watchdog so as a good developer, I must be the problem! Is the following code actually incorrect?

Even if I move the Watchdog into the main() function in the partial class, I still end up with a rebooting device.

Create new gadgeteer project
Add LCD and MultiColor led to Socket 4
Add this code to the partial class:

// This method is run when the mainboard is powered up or reset.   
        void ProgramStarted()
        {
            GHIElectronics.NETMF.Hardware.LowLevel.Watchdog.Enable(5000);
            display.SimpleGraphics.DisplayText("Running", Resources.GetFont(Resources.FontResources.NinaB), Color.White,
                                              0, 0);
            Debug.Print("Program Started");
        }

private static bool beRed = false;
        static Thread WDTCounterReset;
        static void WDTCounterResetLoop()
        {
            while (true)
            {
                Thread.Sleep(3000);
                if (beRed)
                {
                    led.TurnRed();
                    beRed = false;
                }
                else
                {
                    led.TurnBlue();
                    beRed = true;
                }
                GHIElectronics.NETMF.Hardware.LowLevel.Watchdog.ResetCounter();
            }
        }

Compile
Deploy
Run
Watch device boot, say running and then reboot :slight_smile:

1 Like

Damn what an idiot!

WDTCounterReset = new Thread(WDTCounterResetLoop);
WDTCounterReset.Start();

1 Like

You may have insufficient power,
could you please unplug your display and try again?

Or you could use a powered hub or a dc jack.

For testing purpose you can show your messages in the debug console.

Yeah, my big program reboots so was trying to go simple and got the same problem.