Want a custom enclosure ... need some advice

I’m a total noob when it comes to enclosures. I’ve got a FEZ Spider Starter Kit + WiFi RS21 Module. I only want a few of the starter kit modules to be int he enclosure (usb power, display, mainboard). What’s the best way to go about designing an enclosure? Is there someone I could pay to take care of this for me? If so, how much would that cost?

Any advice/suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks!

I’ve used a combination of Front Panel Express (www.schaeffer-ag.de) to make the panels and for the walls of the box I used Shapeways to print the 3D model. The plastic walls allow the wireless to work :slight_smile:

If you can drive CAD software you can have a go yourself with their free software (FPE) and for Shapeways, the new free 3D software from Designspark will led you model it all. It may even allow you to load the 3D models from GHI so that you can check all the bits fit and make sure cutouts are accurate but I am not sure what features it has.

Thanks, Dave. I appreciate the leads. So you used Front Panel Express to make one side of your enclosure for your ports, then used Shapeways for the rest of the sides. I guess this makes sense. I was hoping for a more singular approach.

I also saw that GHI offers laser cutting if you upload SVGs. I was thinking about going that road as I’m really not an experience CAD user. Who knows, maybe I’ll dive into the CAD world because I think that opens my options.

Thanks!

As far as I am aware, the laser cutting service is currently suspended but I have seen this service available from others.

For my designs, I used FPE for both front and rear and then used Shapeways to make the walls. :slight_smile:

Ah, I see it now. Looks like it’s back on again. :slight_smile: