Visual Studio - J11D module - Designer error

I’ve just taken delivery of my first Gadgeteer kit using a Spider, Music module, and a J11D Ethernet. Rightly or wrongly, I’ve downloaded all of the RC2 for NETMF 4.2 QFE2 s/w and everything installed ok. I then started a new project and dragged the Spider into the designer, the music module and J11D. However, the J11D wont drag, reporting “Module not found”. Being a complete novice with netmf, how to get the J11D into the designer? Something I’ve forgotten to do ?

Thank in advance

I was able to recreate this problem.

It only occurs with a 4.2 project. A 4.1 project works fine.

That module driver is looking for the assembly GHI.Premium.Net, which does not exist at this time. However, the good news is that you do not have to use that assembly or have the module in the designer to use networking in 4.2.

@ Steven;
So, I skipped the designer and added a reference to GTM.GHIElectronics.Ethernet_J11D
However, it will crash, see code snippet;

Gadgeteer.Modules.GHIElectronics.Ethernet_J11D ethernet;
ethernet = new GTM.GHIElectronics.Ethernet_J11D(7);

// The following statement will crash; “An unhandled exception of type ‘System.NullReferenceException’ occurred in Gadgeteer.dll”
// #### Message:
// #### Gadgeteer.Modules.Module+NetworkModule::UseStaticIP [IP: 000f] ####
ethernet.UseStaticIP(“192.168.0.108”, “255.255.255.0”, “192.168.0.1”);

// However, the following works;
// Retrieve the network interface
Microsoft.SPOT.Net.NetworkInformation.NetworkInterface NI = Microsoft.SPOT.Net.NetworkInformation.NetworkInterface.GetAllNetworkInterfaces()[0];
// After this statement I can ping the Spider from my computer; ping 192.168.0.108
NI.EnableStaticIP(“192.168.0.108”, “255.255.255.0”, “192.168.0.1”);

Any idea why the gadgeteer code does not work?
Thanks.

Do not add it, not even in code and all will work just fine.

Sorry Gus,

What do you mean "Do not add it, not even in code and all will work just fine."