Using Fingerprint Reader with USB Module

I know that the below question might not make sense since im still a newbie.I m not sure if this is even the right section.

I was wondering if a digital persona fingerprint reader was connected through usb would it be able to function . Since when asked in the .NETMF forum they said that it would possibly need a modified driver of the usb module for it to function would anyone possibly know how to do this.

I think that’s going to depend on your definition of working… There are two pieces to a fingerprint scanner - the hardware and the software. You could probably get the hardware working but the software they provide most definitely will not work in NETMF. So, are you just trying to get the scanner to work so you can write your own software or are you looking to be able to take their off the shelf product (hardware & software) and make it work on NETMF hardware?

First off what do you understand by software.

As what we have are the dlls of digital persona which are available in C# , VB6, and VB.NET meaning that they are probably quite low-level.

But I really wish to know if these would be functional on .NETMF. Would there be any way of testing this or possibly emulating it?

C# DLLs are most probably for a .Net application on a windows PC. That’s not .NETMF.

Step 1 would be to take the code on the USB discovery helper and deploy to your device, http://code.tinyclr.com/project/164/usb-discovery-helper/

See what it reports; if anything comes back that makes sense to connect to, then there are portions of the USBHost on your Fez that it might be possible to interface to the hardware.

The thing is, I suspect nobody has tried this before, and at this point we don’t know what reader or Fez you have to work with. So you’re largely on your own, unless someone else happens to have the same reader sitting around and they wanted to start playing.

I guess this is the brand/device you have?