Turn-Key Assembly - Star Wars, R2-D2

Brett BourbinToday I’m pleased to introduce . He is a recent Turn-Key Assembly customer. We loved what he made so we wanted to share his story and experience with you.
[line]
My name is Brett Bourbin, I am a technical director at one of the largest video game publishers/developers in the world and design electronics projects as a hobby. I’ve been working on electronic designs for the past 10 years, ranging from lighting effects to computer controlled locomotion systems. From my courses in electrical engineering in college, to working on one of the first video game modems, I have always enjoyed solving interesting problems with silicon.

The current project I am working on contributes to my desire to recreate a working replica of the Astromech droid from Star Wars, R2-D2. I belong to a club that creates these replicas and I have designed different electronic boards to mimic what we have seen this little droid do on screen. This specific electronic design implements two of the lighting effects seen on R2’s dome. They are called Processor Status Indicators, or PSI, and they are little round lights that sweep from side to side changing colors.

While I really enjoy all aspects of designing my own printed circuit boards and assembling the surface mounted technologies, hand-building 300 of these little items was too much for me to do in my spare time. So I researched different services that could assemble my designs saving me many hours of my time.

That is when I learned about Turn-Key Assembly. I found them from doing many internet searches and sorting through all the different companies capabilities (i.e. handling of circular PCB designs, lead times, PCB manufacturing, cost, etc.) Through my research Turn-Key Assembly bubbled towards the top, as one of the very positive features was their website for setting up a project.