Trouble using ALFAT OEM's SPI interface with a DsPic

Hi !

I am new to ALFAT and I am trying to set up a communication between my DsPic (33ep512mu810) and the ALFAT OEM using the SPI interface.
I think the problem comes from the wiring circuit: not sure how to set the SPI_MOSI high at power-up ?
Through Matlab Simulink’s SPI block I’m able to set the SPI_SSEL high and then the reset pin high to launch reset.

I would be really grateful for any help on the matter !

1 Like

hi, and welcome

to ensure lines are held high at power up, until driven low by the microcontroller, you just need to add a pull-up resistor on that line.

Hello, thank you ! I will try this today.

I also have a question regarding the commands sent to the ALFAT. I read on the website that “traditional” Read/Write commands are meant for writing/reading inside a file, whereas the SPI write/read frame is specific to sending commands to the ALFAT.
However, I am using Simulink and more specifically MPLAB Device Blocks to flash my DsPic and set up the communication with the ALFAT. The SPI block only offers read/write commands. I was wondering if I would therefore be able to send the commands directly (as in sending byte by byte but the way I was able to when using UART), or if it is obligatory to use the frames, which would complicate things a bit.
Is it mandatory to use a full C program, even for a simple application?

I’m not an ALFAT expert by any stretch (I can spell it right - most times I can spell it :slight_smile: ). But there’s absolutely no need to use a C program - whatever you use however needs to communicate appropriately to the device (this is no different to any two hardware devices and their interfacing, really).