Too Many Choices...Need Suggestions

So when I first came to TinyCLR.com, there was only the Mini and Domino. Now there are too many to chose from.

I have stated before, and will restate…

I am looking at building an Underwater ROV. I pretty much have the mechanics down, but I am looking at a controller system.

I need help in which one would best work for me. I am no computer wiz and I have no experience with micro controllers, thus why I am here, seems easy, FEZ!

Well my application will be:

Topside
Laptop - to control/monitor video
Power Source - 12 volt battery

Tether
Probably cat5 cable
Power cable

Bottom Side
Multiple DC motors ( need to be directional, forward/reverse and left and right and another set for up and down)
Lites on/off
Possible accelerometer
Possible leak detection (simple wet trip circuit)
Possible Pressure sensor

I have been thinking because the range could be greater then 500 feet on the tether, as previously suggested communication over RS232 with an RS485 converter.

So I ask the forum, what would be the Best (ok, cheapest) FEZ for this job and hardware?

Any suggestions?

cncmike

Pretty much any FEX will work for this application, but you probably don’t quite need the power of a Cobra. I think a Domino or Mini would be a good choice.

I’d approach it by thinking how many connections to monitors or controls will you need.

eg How many control wires per motor (or pair of motors) are you going to need?

Total up those requirements, and see what might suit based on it’s configuration. Panda will be good since it brings small form factor with many IOs and potentially a cheap price point - but until you figure out how many IOs you need that may be unnecessary. [url]http://www.tinyclr.com/compare/[/url] is a great starting point.

Also, how are you going to run vide back to the surface - I’m assuming that’s separate to the RS232/485 over the Cat5, and not inter-connected to Fez?