TinyCLR 2.0

Hi,

I am a C# developer and new to the platform. A few basic questions about TinyCLR 2.0 from a noob:

1. Will it be OSS?
  2. Will you offer OSH reference designs?
  3. Will it…
    a) be netstandard2.0 compliant?
    b) support modern C# 8?
    c) support hardware intrinsics?
    d) work with modern (Roslyn) toolchains?
    e) work with modern (VS Code) IDEs?
    f) work with modern IOT cloud platforms (MS, AMZN)?
  4. Will it support a REPL, ala CircuitPython?
  5. What hardware platforms will it support…
    a) on launch?
    b) within a year from launch?

I am unable to sign NDAs, but I think these are reasonable questions people will want to know in order to consider adopting it.

Thanks in advance!
David

Welcome to the community David.

TinyCLR works with modern Visual Studio, not VS code. Also, while we have bit and pieces open, this is not the usual open source platform. We focus on commercial customers that want things to simply work. The system is built and tested to work on the modules we provide, like G120. On the hardware front, we have always provided open source reference designs to help the commercial customer. And yes to IoT question, all is supported!

I hope those answers are enough for you to decide if TinyCLR is for you or not. For commercial users, we always recommend a direct phone call to discuss the need and help you determine if TinyCLR fits.

2 Likes

Thanks for your quick reply!

That’s certainly enough for me to want to learn more. Coming from the medical device field, my principal concern is adopting a platform that could “go away” or can only be fixed/adapted by GHI. If the core firmware modules are closed source and commercial licenced, I would at least like to know that there is a perpetual licenses to the source, so that it can be migrated to the latest-greatest if/when we need to switch hardware (even if GHI changes it’s model or has to close).

I am also considering TinyCLR and have the same concerns.