Task Tracker - Create working "minimal" code to prove each module is working

I just posted Create working “minimal” code to prove each module is working on Task Tracker. Feel free to discuss and make suggestions here.

4 Likes

Create working “minimal” code to prove each module is working was updated.

Status went from Proposed to Open.
Priority went from Unassigned to Trivial.

In many cases, these would be in the developer’s guide on the Resources tab for the module. Making sure that they all have one and making them easy to use is a essential.

@ Blue Hair Bob and Brett - something like you can see on https://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/393?

2 Likes

As a relative newbie I found the Resources section attached to ‘most’ of the modules a great aid.

@ John, that’s a great example for a simple module. The reason I originally posted this though was the more complex modules (networking, here’s pointing at you! and cameras) so that newbies or people who have just got the module can simply use that code to make sure their module works rather than everyone trying to give their own interpretation of the code. But please, please, PLEASE! Document what version of SDK the code is for !

@ Brett - Here’s another more complicated one: https://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/322 (Cellular Radio might be better served by an entire document since it has numerous functions.)

Again, that’s very helpful and will prove that the module works and SIM works. May not help a newbie understand why it doesn’t, when it doesn’t, but that at least gives appropriate debug info for others here to trace for that person.

Can I ask - can you also put the framework version not just the SDK version ? “This sample was written using the 2014 R5 SDK, using a Gadgeteer application type and targeting framework 4.3.” And perhaps an expected sequence of output would assist too - here’s what you should expect to see if everything works as intended.