STM32F4Discovery and SignalCapture

First of all, i’m Pablo Ferioli from Argentina, hi to everybody, this is my first post, i’m just beginning with .NETMF, and i have a question related to SignalCapture.

My project requires measure frequency in a range from 100Hz to 5kHz. and i’d rather not using a pin interrupt but a timer capture.

I have a FEZ Panda II board and everything i tested worked fine including PinCapture, but a few days ago, i found out that USBIzi is LEGACY so i decided to flashed my STM32F4Discovery first with the Mountanieer Firmware and later with the Cerb Firmware available in one of the post in this forum (compiled for the 8MHz crystal).

Up to now I/O PIns, button interrupts, ADC and PWM worked fine, but i need to measure frequency and i can’t find SignalCapture in the SDK 4.2.

I’ve tried to adapt the firmware i had in FEZ-Panda using pinCapture (GHIElectronics.NETMF.Hardware) with SignalCapture but it’s not available. Acording to DOC’s it should be In GHI.Premium.Hardware v4.2, but i don’t have it, only SignalGenerator is in the assembly.

Could someone tell me please how to use SingalCapture with STM32F4.

Thanks for your help and sorry for my english.

Hi Pablo, and welcome to the forum!

USBizi might be deemed legacy but it’s still a premium product and is still worth retaining as your prime device in this scenario - unless you’re going to need to build hundreds of them (even then, a call to GHI might help understanding if that is really a problem)

I don’t know for sure if the community firmware has a pincapture or equivalent yet, I haven’t looked closely, but the pincapture on USBizi was a GHI premium (ie exclusive) feature so you may need to either contribute it yourself or wait until someone else contributes it.

Brett,

thanks for your the information, i’m not sure if i’m able to write RLP code yet, i’ve been reading about and i think that i don’t have the skill to deal with it.