STM32F4 discovery board connect with FEZ Cobra II

Currently my project has one STM32F4 discovery board connect to laptop through Virtual Com Port for User Interface input on .net framework.
I understand that once I switched to FEZ Cobra II, I have to recreate my User Interface in .net micro framework.
How can I connect STM32F4 discovery board to FEZ Cobra II? I use FEZ Cobra II as main input which have to communicate with STM32F4 of sending and receiving data.

I am a newbie trying to use FEZ Cobra II. Please give me some guidelines and suggestions.

Welcome to the forum!

You can connect them using UART (serial port) for example.

UART is good.

or you can try I2C, SPI, USB [Cobra II can be an USB host and the Discovery a USB device, you will have to create the custom device class]

1 Like

Alright. Thanks. I will try it out. I am still waiting for the board to arrive.

Hi, guys. I received my Cobra II board now. I am so excited to get it program but I hit the wall now.
I download all the files and documents that needed but now I stun at firmware update stage.
Which firmware should I be updating? Should I choose EMX(Fez cobra) or G120?
I want to program the FEZ cobra and display on the 7" touch display.
Any examples that I could refer?

Cobra II is G120.

Ya. But when I update firmware, it shows me four preferences. One of them is G120 and the other is FEZ cobra. So, I am confused now. Don’t know which should I choose to update because it matters. If I update G120, I will see debugger .net micro framework in my device manager. If I update Fez Cobra firmware, it will shows me Com Port.
Does anyone has this issue as well?

Can you post a screenshot of where you see “four preferences”? In any case you should use G120Updater.exe for your Cobra II board.

On my system it is located at the following path:

C:\Program Files (x86)\GHI Electronics\GHI Premium NETMF v4.2 SDK\Firmware Update