Spi1_ssel

The pin SPI1_SSEL on the Cerb40II. Is that the SPI Chip Select?

@ Mr. John Smith - Yip, it is the chip select pin or slave select which is where what the abbreviation stands for.

1 Like

yip. But you can stipulate what CS you use in netmf so it probably isn’t that necessary :slight_smile:

@ Brett - Exactly; so is this like a default one? Why label that pin SPI1_SSEL? Is it some sort of hardware accelerated version or something?

Why? I honestly don’t know. I’ve not opened the uC datasheet to see if there’s a reason that this might be a simpler approach (for example the SPI hardware is optimised if you use this pin) and that netmf may not leverage.

Can anyone from GHI comment on why this was listed on the schematic?

I can try offer a little insight here.

First a disclaimer, I am just a hobbyist so my exposure to the various implementations of SPI peripherals is somewhat limited those that are more experienced/career embedded programmers should please step in where I have missed any nuances.

With that out of the way, I have seen the following variations which I believe can be attributed to the lack of real standardization around the SPI protocol.

[ul]SPI in Master mode - The SSEL pin can be configured to fulfill the SSEL function and the peripheral will drive the SSEL pin automatically. This is sometimes an issue because in this mode the pin is driven per byte transmitted, where as if you manually manage the pin you can drive the pin for the duration of a data stream. This is common on some of the LPC chips I have played with. Some of the documents actually mention that you will need alternate pin to enable the slave you are targeting, not something that is part of the standard but I am almost sure the LPC11u24 user manual says this. I will double check when I get a moment.