SPI Chip Select after 32 bits

Is it possible to get a chip select after 32 bits as opposed to 8 bits? Or for that matter N * 8 bits (i.e. 16, 24, 32, 64 etc).

I want to daisy chain the L6470 however I don’t have a clue how to change the chip select “frequency”? (if that makes sense)

This would be nice but not possible at this point. Unless you write your own SPI drivers using RLP. You should request this www.netmf.com

Darn, ok I posted it. I guess there would be little to no luck in getting that implemented, so it’s time for plan B

[url]http://www.netmf.com/forum/default.aspx?g=posts&m=8458#post8458[/url]

Isn’t the “normal” implementation to have separate CS lines, and “share” the SPI MISO and MOSI lines between all the devices?

As I understand it, this is an advantage of I2C over SPI, because SPI is 2+n pins, and I2C is 2 pins regardless of slave count…

(I’m a beginner, this could all be wrong)

Nah, it’s more options. I know about the chip select stuff, however the chip that I have allows for such features. It would have simplified the circuit design drastically.

Oh, I see, you’re not trying to SHARE an SPI bus, the device supports an actual daisy-chain configuration. Seems to me you could wire up your devices just like in figure 18 from the datasheet, and write single bytes at a time. If I understand correctly, the first time you wrote a byte, it’d go to device 1, the second time it’d go to the second device, etc.

Again, I could be completely wrong…

the 8 bit value will shift from one device to another until you hit the CS pin (chip select). At that point they all process the information and do what they are supposed to do. This would require that the SPI bus hit chip select after 32 bits are sent. this is however not possible at this time. i’ll keep the idea alive in the event it becomes possible in the future.

Ah, now I understand. You could always use GPIO_NONE for the CS pin and do the CS manually, right?

@ Kurtnelle,