SparkFun Free Day 2012

Don’t forget SF free day is on Wednesday God’s willing!

@ kurtnelle

Promises to be worse for my productivity than a Woot-off. :o

For those who don’t know what this is:

http://www.sparkfun.com/news/747

Good luck.

So, I’m a newb to Free Day. Do you just hit up the web site and keep hitting F5 all day?

How do you know when/if you’ve won?

They do it different every year. No one will no for sure until the day of but one thing you can bet on is that it will be almost impossible to access their site throughout the day. Don’t set your hopes high and you might have some fun. I’ve yet to get anything… :frowning:

I’ve tried unsuccessfully for two years to get near the contest page. I did manage to login once, but that flash of possibility was quickly doused with more timeouts. It is certainly a great way to test their servers. They probably loose some insane amount of money every minute a node of their site servers is down the other 364 days of the year, so the prize money is well worth the load test data they get in return. Marketing it they way they do is pure genius.

this year, will be my first that I definitely want to participate in. When you consider what 100K users trying to get 2K prizes there is a 2% chance that you’ll win something if you try. Otherwise there is a 0% chance if you don’t try :slight_smile:

If anyone over here wins we’d love to know about it.

My current wish list on SparkFun is around $500 atm… getting $100 off would really be appreciated, especially since it won’t count on the 20% sales tax that I’ll also have to pay when importing stuff to France. So the $100 coupon would actually be worth $120 to me :slight_smile:

It sounds like it will be a little easier this year. The first year you had to actually put $100 of stuff in your shopping cart and checkout. The first $100 was free. After about an hour I was able to get stuff in my cart but was never able to checkout before the money was all gone.