Source code for BlinkPandaLED

Hello there,

I would like to try out some native programming on the Panda. The Porting manual gives a fairly good description on how to flash. (I think) And it suggests to flash a BlinkPandaLED program. Excellent! But I would also like to compile the program myself. (That’s a crucial part of the learning process as well.)
I cannot find the source code for BlinkPandaLED anywhere though.

Does anyone have an ANSI C Blink example, that’s been verified on the Panda?

If you are learning then why not just use netmf? It is much better and easier than native programing

“learning” might be a bit unnuanced. I’m a rather experienced professional high level developer and I’m a somewhat experienced embedded developer. (We only have experience from embedded platforms such as Blackfin, Pic and Renesas.) We have no real experience with ARM though. (Which is why we’re a bit curious.) What my experience does tells me though, is that embedded code can be very different from platform to platform.

To build a BlinkPandaLED program, I would most likely have to find a GPIO driver of sorts. Or build one myself. Or perhaps it’s I2C. Or perhaps it’s just raw register writes. As for the LED address I could hope for a match with the ones supplied for the Panda netmf. It’s likely but not certain. It might also help to find a delay-function. And few other basic good-to-have functions. I would also have to find an entry stub somewhere. And prolly also some sort of memory layout file. And since the Panda is not meant for native ARM development, it hasn’t got a community or help documentation in this regard.
It could take me weeks to get all the basics in place. It would be more effecient just to buy another (real) ARM development board instead. But we don’t want to do ARM development. We’re just curious. And it would take us 10 … perhaps 30 seconds to learn all of the above, if we had access to the source of BlinkPandaLED… That would be FEZ :wink: