Simulating I2C Communication - Panda

Hi, I’m awaiting the delivery of my panda, and in the meantime I’m getting the code ready.

Is it possible to test I2C code without the physical device?

And while I’m here, whats wrong with this? I really can’t work out why it’s complaining, it throws an System.ArgumentNullException.

I2CDevice.I2CTransaction[] xActions = new I2CDevice.I2CTransaction[7];

byte[] Cps_adr = new byte[1] { data_adr };

xActions[0] = I2CDevice.CreateWriteTransaction(Cps_adr);

byte[][] Cps_val = new byte[6][];

for (int i = 1; i <= 6; i++)
            {
                xActions[i] = I2CDevice.CreateReadTransaction(Cps_val[i-1]);

}

The exception is thrown on the first iteration of the for loop, so when i = 1.

Btw in case you’re wondering, the device increments the read address itself each time it is accessed, so hopefully if I send 6 reads, I should be able to read the 6 registers containing data.

PS: I’m new to C#, so go easy on me :).

Maybe because Cps_val[] contains empty arrays when you pass it to the CreateReadTransaction method ?

In the NETMF samples folder there is an I2C emulator ( temperature ) Why not just adjust this code to suit?

Cheers Ian

I thought that’s it’s after, an empty byte array to use as a buffer?

CreateReadTransaction(byte[] buffer) - I assumed its asking for an empty byte to receive the data. What would be the correct way of making it do what I want? (I’m after an array containing the 6 registers, 3-8)

And thanks Ian, I’ll look into the sample one.

Edit: Sorry, where do I get the sample folder from?

Hi Xarren,

You have allocated an array that has 6 null references.

byte[][] Cps_val = new byte[6][];

You have to do another loop to allocate actual byte arrays

CreatReadTransaction expects a buffer (doesn’t matter if it is empty or not),but you have to allocate it.

for( int i = 0; i < 6; i++)
{
    //you need to allocate enough space here, make sure the buffer is big enough
    //change 2 to whatever is expected