Simple electronic question

Hello!

I am a software developer dabbling for the first time in some electronics using Gadgeteer, perhaps a dangerous thing! Anyway, we are working on a project for Halloween that involves flowing fake blood. I have a 12v pump that I’d like to run at 6v so that it goes slower. It’s max rated current is 350 mA. I suspect that I will want to put a couple of resistors across the negative and positive feeds? If so, what size would I want?

Thank you for the help!
Danny

Not that I’m an expert for this, but I don’t think that putting some resistors in row with an Motor would reduce the voltage by half. A motor is not just an resistor on speed, it’s an inductive load.
I would use a 6V power supply and switch it on and off using a relay.

@ CodeGreen - With a little time before you need what you are asking for I would suggest a Gadgeteer motor controller that you can drive using PWM for provide the control. You can feed this with 12V but use PWM to produce a 50% duty cycle what would reduce the speed. This will also provide the additional components to ensure the drive electronics doesn’t blow up as you try and turn the motor.

This is what I suggest:

https://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/315

Hello,

My plan is to use a 6v power supply controlled by a relay (the Load Module), I just didn’t know if I would also need to put resistors on it.

Jason, I actually already have one of L298 modules, hadn’t thought of using that (haven’t actually ever used it yet). That is a really good idea, I could experiment and maybe by ramping it up and down create a nice grisly effect!

The resistor option would work, but it’s a bit wasteful as it’s just dumping all the unwanted power as heat. You also need a fairly beefy resistor too so that it doesn’t burn out.