Sensor Data?

Hi,
I am absolute Noob so please forgive me my somewhat noobish and maybe naïve questions:
I am wondering if I could use FEZ Spider to acquire analogues sensor data from an external sensor or multiple sensors and give them out on my PC? And how would I best start and proceed on such a project?
If someone could give me some starting advice I would be really grateful. But please remember: Noob here :-[

Cheers and thanks

Welcome to the community.

Yes you absolutely can and it should be easy :slight_smile: What sensors are you planning on using?

I thought of measuring distance using ultrasonic sound? But if that is too complex to start of I am open for suggestions…

The easiest is by starting with an existing module http://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/category/275/

O.k. then I will first try to use the light sensor from the eblock kit.
Am I right that I need then the following modules?

• eblock light sensor
  • eblock expansion module
  • FEZ Spider mainboard
  • USB client SB module (to connect to my PC)
    With this it should be possible to readout a value for the light intensity on the sensor right?

As Gus implied, there isn’t a Gadgeteer compatible sensor for measuring distance yet. As a matter of fact, there aren’t any sensor modules currently available (as of 12/12). There is a long list of requested modules on the Wiki, and GHI (plus other companies) are cranking them out as fast as possible.

In the meantime, you can use the extender or eBlock modules to hook up a simple sensor like a thermistor. While this approach is not plug and play, it is much more educational IMHO. Don’t let your self imposed noob-ness slow you down. Ask lots of questions. We’ve got your back.