Sensirion SHT21 relative humidity and temperature sensors wiring options

ok, i am still a noob when it comes to wiring, and im working on a humidity sensor project. i ordered the Sensirion SHT21 relative humidity and temperature sensor after seeing the ease at which it seemed to be plugged into the arduino. i thought since it was plugged into the analog pins and that i could just look into how to do an analog read of a specified pin, seemed simple enough.

but when i get the sensor i see that it has slc and sda pins so im a little unsure of how to make an analog pin setup to do serial communication? or would it be better to use the slc sda pins like this:

i did find this article:
http://code.tinyclr.com/project/297/software-i2c-driver/

but he only mentions the SHT21 but his code doesnt actually connect to one. I dont want to fry this new sensor on my first test. can anyone give me some advice?

Hey ContractorWolf

From what I can see there are multiple SHT21 devices (I2C, PWM, SDM) that have different interactionmethods. The typical device is an I2C connection though, and since you mention SCL and SDA, I suspect you have the I2C one.

Who knows what the Ardufolk did - I didn’t search.

Anyway, pin wise, you need to connect SCL to the I2C CLK which is Di3, and SDA to the I2C Data line Di2. Then you need to connect your power and ground to the correct locations - the device has a max voltage of 3v6, so connect to 3v3 not 5v !!! Then you can use hardware I2C (you most likely won’t need the software I2C )

Good luck - just remember, not the 5v ! :slight_smile: