Sdi-12

Hello,

I am an amateur programmer. All of this is exciting and new to me. I am trying to build a system with a FEZ Cobra which monitors sensors using the SDI-12 protocol.

I am wondering if there is a SDI-12 driver for sensors lurking in the darkness. A forum search came up empty handed.

Thanks!
Milo209

It always helps if you add a link to what you are referring to. I bet most users do not know what is SDI-12 :slight_smile:

Se here is a link [url]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SDI-12[/url]

So looking at that link, this i just a serial port running at 1200 so I am not seeing why would this not run on any FEZ. Now, I do not know anything about the protocol but the good news is that FEZ run C# serial port just like a PC does. If you can find some code online to handle the protocol on a PC then the code will just run in FEZ with very little or no modifications at all.

Do you have a device with SDI-12? Ever worked with these on a PC?

Yeah seems to be like rs-485 in some ways just slower.

Hello Chimpanzee(Gus)

I will list more references in the future when I make a post. Thanks for linking everyone.

The Decagon 5TE sensors I use utilize TTL or SDI-12. With SDI-12 I can run 10 sensors off of a single serial connector. The only issue is that these sensors need 5V excitation. This makes finding compatible units a little trickier. Most dataloggers on the market only provide 3.3V.

Here is a link to the sensor if you are curious:
http://www.gerber-instruments.com/wp-content/product-pictures/decagon/pdf/5te5tm/5TE5TMIntegratorsGuide.pdf

I currently have a datalogger(which cost $600!) which runs a single sensor(which cost $220) in TTL. It has no screen and the unit has to be removed from the site and plugged into a computer to pull the data off of it. This makes frequent checks on my research in California impossible from my office in New Mexico.