RS232, Spider, and Insteon PowerLinc

I want to connect a Spider to the Insteon PowerLinc Modem (2413S). Since I have zero knowledge of how I would go about this, I’m hoping for a possible solution.
The idea I have is to use the RS232 module, but I’m not sure if I need a Female/Female RS232 crossover or a straight cable.
I’m assuming I would be able to connect to the serial port from the spider using something like new SerialPort(“COM1”), but I’m not sure if that’s right either.
Would it be (“COM1”) or (“UART0”)?
In the end I will hopefully be able to communicate with the PowerLink using FluentDwelling(FluentDwelling « Soapbox Automation). I’m sure this seems like overkill, but I don’t trust my pc to stay on all the time and I have other ideas for the spider, so I thought running everything from one place might be fun to try.

In case I wasn’t clear,

1. do i need a crossover or straight cable to communicate between the RS232 module and the modem(just another device http://www.insteon.net/pdf/2413Sqs.pdf)
  2. to send/receive commands via RS232 module, do i use UART0 or COM1 as the serial port name? SerialPort UART = new SerialPort(NameOfPort, BaudRate)

any other tips/suggestions would be great.
thanks,
nick

wow, that was fast. thanks for the quick response.

1. I think you have the wrong picture. the rj45 is input into the modem, i’m pretty sure that the other end of the cable is rs232.

2. thanks for the link, but i’ve seen the example and it doesn’t exactly answer the question.
    Note that serial ports on PC’s and on NETMF are named COM ports and they start from COM1. There is no COM0 on computer systems. This can cause a little confusion when we want to map the COM port to the UART port on the processor because the processor usually start with UART0 not UART1. So, COM1 is UART0 and COM2 is UART1…etc.

so can i create a serial port using both “COM1” and “UART0”?