RS-485 Interface

Hello,

I am new to TinyCLR and FEZ, but not to programming. I apologize if this is too basic, but I have (what I hope is) a rather simple question:

I am looking at getting a device which communicates using RS-485, and would like to connect to it and query data using a Panda II. In speaking with GHI, I learned that the Panda II natively communicates using TTL and needs either a TTL adapter or a serial protocol shield to speak to other devices. So far, the approaches that we found to have a Panda II talk to this device are:

Use the GHI RS-232 shield and then an RS-232 to RS-485 converter, or

Use a direct RS-485 to TTY converter.

The TTY to RS-232 to RS-485 is the more complicated of the two routes, but may also have the simplest API and the easiest power issue since TTY to RS-485 converters I have found require external power.

So my question is, are there any other alternatives out there? I am looking for a way to connect with this device which is A) programmer friendly, B) simple (fewest parts and no external power), and C) least expensive. What is out there? I have seen a few references to RS-485 communication with the Panda/II, but not details on how it was achieved. One person just mentioned that he moved from Panda to Cobra. Another references an RS-485 driver with code using RLP, but the project is tagged specifically for the Cobra. It looks like I can run RLP on Panda II. Can any one comment on this or another means communicate between the Panda II and an RS-485 connected device?

Thank you,

dmp

yes and yes. it is up to you really.

have you seen this http://code.tinyclr.com/project/280/rs-485-driver-using-rlp/

I referenced that project specifically, but did not post the URL. Does your answer imply that

1. The RLP driver in that link is compatible with Panda II?