Right! I've been putting this off

One of my products on the market is a “Crane Datalogger” written in C and runs on a SBC386… All was well until you need to download it " RS232 and approx 1meg file size " VERY SLOOOOW. So I am porting it to a Panda with a 1 - 2 gig SD card… The trouble is I cannot get a reliable serial link… I have tried and tried to get a suitable / stable connection from the Panda to… well anything!!! I heave read numerous posts and it seems that as I’m an embedded engineer, my approach is wrong…William seems to be the best person to help on this…

We have a SLI (Safe Load Indicator) that spills out a maximum of 33 bytes at a time… I process this data, then store on the SD… When a PC is connected I have a program to upload all the storage ( MB’s ) to the PC… This will be high speed using USB, The connection to the SLI HAS to be RS232…

Gus tells me to create a thread, to deal with the serial buffer.

Struggling… Any help would be a boon.

Cheers Ian

When you get to a full application and you run into problems, no one (not you not us) can easily guess what is going wrong.

Serial is very simple so why not keep that it that way? Where is the “simple” code you are suing to read/send data?

What is you application going to do? Read 1meg of data and save on SD card?

No. The SLI sends 33 byte’s of normal crane data (load, angle, radius etc…)

On the PIC I set up an interrupt and move each char into a circular buffer (about twice the size required ) When a END (0x3E) control character is received there must be a START (0x3C) control character -34 bytes down the buffer… I know I have a complete packet…Check the CRC and budder bing I’m done… With NETMF however… I read 1… 2… 3… maybe even 4 bytes at a time before the interrupt fires…

When you say I need a separate thread to read the entire receive buffer… I really don’t know where to start (never done multi threading before, never needed to)