REST Service binary json NETMF version?

Gentlemen, I have built this nice little server of mine that has opened a REST interface for some devices to report status and other stuff.

Works fine with simple json, but uploading an image requires some binary stuff, and I am wondering if that is possible.

The below curl command line works fine, any gurus around that can translate that into NETMF?

curl -v -X POST -S -H 'Accept: application/json' -u "user:login" -F "device=1111" \
                           -F "image=@ testimg.jpg;type=image/jpg"  \
                          127.0.0.1:8000/api/photo/

I’m not an expert at the inner workings of curl as I have spent very little time with it. If your request is to translate the above command to a uri, here is how you would do it:

The -F switch adds information to the post field, and this is probably what is throwing off uploading the image. PHP and others will separate these fields from the POST fields by using what is called a boundary – you will most likely need to manually parse the entire POST to extract the image data. If you are uploading the image, you will need to make your own boundaries.

I am slightly confused by the "-F “image=@ testimg.jpg;type=image/jpg” " as the way the documentation is written would suggest that the testimg.jpg would be a resource on the server already.

-H replaces the HTTP header fields
-u adds a username/password to the transaction

The translated URI would be:

http://login@ 127.0.0.1:8000/api/photo/testimg.jpg for downloading
http://login@ 127.0.0.1:8000/api/photo/ for uploading

For the uploading portion, this should help explain how to emulate the POST data properly with boundaries:

hmm, that was not what I was aiming for :’(

I want to code some c# running on my Cobra ii that can upload data to this API.

but your code just needs to use HTTP with appropriate headers. @ James is just trying to help unravel what the format of these might need to be.