Reading the powerlevel from inside your program

I have a project on my Panda II powered by a standard 9-V battery. Does anybody have any suggestions on how I might test the battery level from within my program? For example I would like to know when the voltage drops below a certain threshold and turn on or flash a diode or something.

Thanks,
Rod

use an analog input with a voltage divided to get the voltage less than 3.3 volts.

Thanks for your quick reply, however my question is simply around how to measure the power level from my running program.

Thanks,
Rod

Mike’s answer says that though. Use an AnalogIn pin, that is connected to your battery via the voltage divider (that MUST get the voltage down to a maximum of 3v3) and monitor that. When it gets below a certain threshold number, flash your LED.

Apologies but I am new to the electronics side of things so if you wouldn’t mind going a little slower for me ,

[quote]connected to your battery via the voltage divider (that MUST get the voltage down to a maximum of 3v3)
[/quote]

Excuse my ignorance but is this voltage divider on the Panda II already or are you talking about something I have to acquire? And by “MUST” are saying I have do something special to get the input down to 3v3 (i.e.; some circuitry), or this will happen automatically?

Let’s say my project requires 6-9V to run. I want to flash my LED when it drops below 7V. So how does what you are saying work for this scenario?

Thanks,
Rod

You need to do it… ALL. big grin.