Reading serial & multi-threading

Hello!
I’m new in your world… I have a Arduino and as a C# developer I’m interested in FEZ Domino.
In a few words, I would like to read 2 serial sensors (a GPS and a echosounder, both sending NMEA183 sentences) with a FEZ Domino.
I have read that with FEZ it is possible to connect up to 4 serial sensors (only 1 with Arduino), can you confirm it?
Also, can I do multithreading with FEZ, and read both serial ports in separate threads?
Thanks for your answers!
Matt

Page 31 of the Beginners Guide is your friend.

So yes, multithreading is supported.

Greetings

You can also do it with data ready interrupts of the serial ports.

Yup, should be easy as pie.

NMEA0183 is (basically) RS232. You will need the RS232 shield, or it’s simple to roll your own with a RS232 chip.

GPS and echo sounder? Maybe you are working on a project similar to mine?
[url]http://letsmakerobots.com/node/21098[/url]
The current version is using two Arduinos but Im planning to replace them both with one FEZ Domino, also adding a XBee to enable it to be controlled manually.

Geir> Yes, that’s it! Congratulations, your project seems to work wonderfully!
I also have in mind to enable remote control, in case of emergency, like a big ship is coming in the field of survey. I plan to use my boat in sea, and where I live there are some hazards in the water.
I never did a boat model, so you blog will be very helpful for me.
Again, I’m very impressed. Even little bit deveived, I thought it was a new idea!

-Matt

Gier, This is a freakin’ neat project :o
I love it

It indeed is :o Very nice :clap:

Cool project…we need to sponsor you somehow :wink:

Thank you all for your comments.
As I mentioned, when the Pandas arrive I will probably move the FEZ Domino over from Whirligig (link removed) and replace it with a Panda. The SD card isnt critical for Whirligig as it is for SEA RENDERING.