PWMOutput Flicker [Solved]

Hi,

I’m using a FEZ Cerberus to control meanwell LED drivers. The drivers default to full power without a PWM signal. I’m getting a full power flicker every time I use PWMOutput.Set or .SetPulse to change the PWM output. See simplified example code bellow. I’m new to working with hardware along with Gadgeteer and .netmf. I’m not sure how to troubleshoot this as I’m still very much learning the basics.

PWMOutput flicker = this.extender.SetupPWMOutput(GT.Socket.Pin.Nine);
for (double duty = 1; duty > 0; duty -= .01)
{
       flicker.Set(1000, duty);
       Thread.Sleep(1000);
}

Does not flicker:

PWM flickerFree = new PWM(Cpu.PWMChannel.PWM_5, 1000, 1, false);
for (double duty = 1; duty > 0; duty -= .01)
{
       flickerFree.DutyCycle = duty;
       Thread.Sleep(1000);
}

Thanks,
Jack

hi Jack, welcome to the forum.

I’d try changing your frequency from 1000 to something higher, say 10,000, and see if that changes the behavior. What you’re seeing could simply be the change taken over one full normal pulse, so making the normal pulse smaller will mean that has a lesser impact. Are there any specs on the driver with regard to frequencies?

Thank you Brett.

Sorry for the long delay in my response. Things got busy and I did not have any project time.

The spec calls for 100 to 1KHz. Here is the datasheet: http://www.meanwell.com/search/LDD-H/LDD-H-spec.pdf Edit: NM, it’s the first result on google for “ldd-1000h datasheet”

I’ve played with it some more. It seems the flicker is only noticeable when the LEDs are greatly dimmed. Once you get to about 50% power it is not noticeable. I tried 10,000 as you suggested and the flash became much more pronounced. 100 and 1000 seam similar to each other.

It seems the flashing is not related to transitioning but when Set() is used. The following code flashes every 10 seconds and is otherwise properly dimmed:

PWMOutput flicker = this.extender.SetupPWMOutput(GT.Socket.Pin.Nine);
Do
{