Programmable sound sensor

Hello All I am new to the forums, I also have very little computer and technical background(putting it out there). I am working on a project and I am wondering if there are sensors that can be programmed to recognize multiple sounds and specific sounds? Or can they be built and what kind of person could help me with something like that. I would like to do it all myself but with my limited education in this field I believe it may be tough. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I thank you in advance

Tom

I’m not aware of any.

What types of sound are you interested in? You might be able to find a graphic equaliser chip that can detect certain frequencies.

I am looking to make a sensor that can recognize fire/police/ambulance sirens.

There are about 4 to 5 different siren tones

Not that I’m an expert in that field, but I think a frequency analysis should do it.
The most common one is also known as Fourier analysis.

By this you can analyze the spectrum of an mix of frequencies like sound waves.
You get an graph with a peek at every frequency which is ‘strongest’ in the tone.
Each siren will/might have a different graph.
You might need to check if a specific sequence of graphs comes in a timely sequence.

If you connect this to a neuronal network, you could train the system to different sirens (or any other sound). But if you have clearly different sounds this should net be necessary.
That’s an complex topic on it’s own.

The best of all is that this is all achievable by software.
Not sure if the power of a NETMF board is sufficient, but I would think that at least the G400 or even the G120 could handle the frequency analysis when using RLP (native C code).
I think there is a RLP sample for audio recording, which would be a great starting point.

Thanks for the info!!!

You might be able to use something like the module in this video, i believe it uses MSGEQ7 chips to split up sound into 7 different frequency bands.