Panda II UART

Hi,

I’ve a project which needs to utilize all 4 uarts on the panda II and also offer usb client mode in production. So I read the wiki on usb client mode and the need to switch the usb debugging mode to serial. For that I am using the rs232 shield. My question is if it is possible to somehow be able to use the uart for both debugging/transferrring code and for a uart bluetooth module?

Is this possible with conditional statements, or some other technique. Tips or sample code is appreciated. I am new to panda development and wanted to get feedback before I experiment and fry my board.

Thanks in advance.

You can’t share a UART. Is there a way you can reduce the number of uarts you need, or multiplex them?

If you switched to a Domino (USBizi144), you could use a USB to Serial converter in the host port, and still retain the USB client port… If you’re going to be making your own PCB for this you could include a cheap 2 port or 4 port USB Hub controller ($1.5-5) and add a USB to Serial converter IC to give you multiple additional serial ports. In a volume of 500, this would add perhaps $6 to the project including assembly costs and PCB space…

Thanks for the reply Mark. But unfortuantely we’re bound by the number of uarts needed. We chose the panda II for its low power requirements.

How would multiplexing work? Would I need another component?

Have a read of this:
http://electronicdesign.com/article/digital/talk-to-multiple-devices-with-one-uart17447.aspx

The domino only uses 7ma or so more during power on state. If you disable the host port before hibernating it should use the same amount of power in hibernate too. The chips are almost identical - the LPC2388 just has a few more features than the LPC2387 (Check NXP’s site for details).