Panda II - serial over USB only works properly in one direction

I’m still a bit of a newbie when it comes to programming for these kinds of devices, and I have run into a problem that is limiting progress on a project that is to go into a “production” environment. I’ve tried searching, but haven’t had much success

My current setup involves a C# Windows desktop application that communicates with the Panda II using a SerialPort object through USB using the CDC.
CDC + Debug works, but it is very unreliable, as after a while, the communications port seems to “crash”. The PC will continue to send commands to the Panda and the Panda will receive and process them, but when trying to send packets (less than 64 bytes) back to the PC, the USB_CDC.Write() function on the Panda will time out and return 0 and the PC will receive nothing, requiring me to restart the board for it to start working again. Everything else (inputs and outputs) works perfectly find otherwise

It seems that the port is more likely to “crash” when I have output pins connected to other components, including several MAX6675 thermocouple chips (these share a common ground and are powered by the 5v pins on the Panda) and am toggling the state of these outputs. I tried changing the physical pins with no changes to the behavior. I haven’t been able to find any sort of pattern.

Are there any alternatives to serial communication through the USB port besides having wire up a separate serial connector? I’m not too worried about the ability to debug. I tried using StartCDC() instead of StartCDC_WithDebugging() in hopes that it would be more reliable, but I could not get the code to run after deploying to the board.

Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome WillMcC to the forums!

Interesting problem. The way you describe this, I suspect you have an uncaught exception that means the send is failing. You say you’re using CDC+Debug, are you getting any errors showing in VS?