Panda II RTC backup battery

Has anyone used 3v rechargeable lithium coin cells to back the RTC? These life test units run into years and the clock is key. They sit on UPS backups but the hyro occasionally goes out for days here.

A coin cell would be easiest but I need a bunch of these units so if something more robust is needed it would be good to know before I build them out.

Just look at the Fez Connect schematics : http://www.ghielectronics.com/downloads/FEZ/Shield/FEZ_Connect_sch.pdf : this board extends eventualy the panda2 with ethernet and other features, like RTC battery.

GHI is using a 0.22F supercapacitor for the RTC backup and it can last fo days. Maybe for weeks… It is way simpler than a lithium battery… :slight_smile:

Thanks for the heads up on the connect schematic. I am fairly new to FEZ and any good info is appreciated. I was using Arduinos until I ran into a Panda spec sheet and the choice was obvious although I do give a lot of credit to the Arduino community for bringing these gadgets into the main.

If the .22F cap will keep one alive for days then a rechargeable lithium should be bulletproof. I have 17ma/hr 3.1v coins with solder tabs, and I am seeing 3.2v on the v-bat line which should keep them alive indefinitely.

I have used these [url]http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10319[/url] for RTC power and found they are beefy enough to power the whole board for a short time! Definately overkill, both on size and power, but if your not space constrained, they do last a long time. The holder and breakout for these that SF sells make for a nice prototyping package. I also have a Connect shield, but have not tested how long the supercap will keep the clock going.