Panda Com port

I am new with Fez Panda and have a basic question. Can I use the USB port as serial to communicate between PC and Panda? I did a little search, it seems TeraTerm can make the USB as Virtual Comm. Is this the correct way to do it? Thanks

see CDC section in book.

Gus is referring to this microframeworkprojects.com

The thing that is not all that good explained in the book is that you have to pull the mode pin to ground. So, upload your program, remove the USB cable and pull the mode pin to ground. Put the USB cable back in and you have your virtual COM port.

Also the driver can be a pain to find (I have asked for it on the download page) but you can find it here. http://www.ghielectronics.com/downloads/NETMF/Library%20Documentation/CDC_Driver.inf

Hi Geir. Is the “mode” pin thing specific to Panda. As I don’t have to do that on Domino. Just have the do the break/continue jazz from VS.

There is a separate set of pads on the Domino.
Down by the analogue ports.
You can solder a little 2 pin header and use a jumper (like the ones on hardisk slave select)

Hi Geir,
I followed the link and tried the demo code USB Debugging with Virtual COM Channel in the book. It deployed successfully, if i pull mode to ground, there is no new port after power cycle. I am confused. windows does find a virtual port after power cycle the board without the mode pin. Then I tried to debug, during rebooting, it lost the virtual port. :’(
any idea what I did wrong? Thanks

Gary

During deploy, the USB port (and CDC fro that matter) will reset.

Do you have real serial port connected? and you are debugging over serial? You need to do this before you can use the USB port for other things…like CDC

Hi Gus,
From the usb client section, it states: USB Debugging with Virtual COM Channel