Panda + 2A Motor Sheild + MOSFET = Golf Cart Controller

Hello FEZ users new here but thought I would present to you my plan to upgrade my old resistor type golf cart to a much more user and battery friendly setup. My plan is to use a POT to drive an analogue input based on voltage to set the PWM to drive the 2A motor controller which in turn will drive a high power MOSFET to deliver the needed 36V to the drive motor on the cart. I have my Panda and motor shield on the way and will start small by at first just getting everything working with a small 12V motor and go from there. Any input would be greatly appreciated as this will be my first project based on the NETMF platform I am sure I will have many questions along the way so I look forward to conversing with fellow FEZ users! 8)

How do you plan on isolating the FEZ?

As I said I am new to this but would think the motor shield would isolate the FEZ as the shield will be driving the MOSFET, I may however be mistaken and any input from the great minds on this forum is welcomed. It’s been well over 10 years since I messed around with programming PIC’s (not that the Panda is anything even compairable FEZ looks so easy) but I am interested in getting back into the scene! :wink:

I wonder what the stall current is on those puppies?

I’m not sure that using the motor shield to try and drive a larger mosfet will work. If you don’t get the mosfet turned all the way on or off it will over heat. My point about isolation was that generally when using a uC to control high voltages you want to isolate the uC from the high voltage section so if something goes wrong the uC does not get blown up (or catch fire.)

[url]http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1457[/url]
I can’t tell from reading this one. Wonder if your logic can be different supply then high volts here or if you need common gnd?