OutOfMemory exception on N18 SimpleGraphics.DisplayImage ONLY when debugging

On a FEZ Cerberus with the latest loader and firmware (4.3), I am using the N18 display’s SimpleGraphics.DisplayImage to display a small (72x12) bitmap in the upper corner of the display.

If I just deploy and run the program (without debugging), it works fine, making this DisplayImage call hundreds of times without any problems. But when I run the program through the debugger (no breakpoints, no changes to the code, no conditional code), the very first call to DisplayImage gets an OutOfMemory exception.

The same code worked fine with or without the debugger, but suddenly started throwing this exception on the very first DisplayImage call whenever the debugger is attached. Running the deployed code without the debugger works fine, and runs for hours without a problem.

I’m pretty new to Gadgeteer, so still trying to figure out the nuances. But this one has my scratching my head a bit.

Thanks.

The debugger uses some memory so this is normal. What is in your code? Let’s try to optimize it.

1 Like

@ Gus -

Thanks for your reply, and it’s good to know that this is expected potential behavior when the debugger is attached. At the moment, the code does very little. It is a small demo I was creating for an upcoming presentation.

It gets the current time (actually, the elapsed time since reset) using DateTime.Now.TimeOfDay.ToString(), draws the string text into a 75x12 bitmap (which is allocated only once at initialization and is reused thereafter), and uses the N18 SimpleGraphics.DisplayImage method to display it. The new time means a new string every second, so there’s some garbage being generated, but as I said, the exception always occurs on the very first DisplayImage call, so there’s only been one string object generated at that point.