nRF24L01+ module?

I am no expert in nRF24L01+ but I see it used often, why? Do you have an application where you need nRF24L01+ with gadgeteer? Explain more please.

Price

nRF24L01+ = cheapest way of adding wireless communication to a project

indeed, price, they can be found for 2-3$, and with 2 Mbit speed it’s a very nice module.

I made a wireless RFID reader with them to open my garage door. They are rock solid. Although they work in the 2.4Ghz band, I still have to see them fail. You have 125 channels available, and if you keep them above 13 you wont get interference from wifi.

It’s extremely cheap and it’s ideal for home projects.
Working with them and they are awesome.

The range of the standard ones is not very large, but if it will not be enough for this project (timeouts), then I will buy two with an external antenna :slight_smile:

@ gralin already has written the netmf code for these. Coincidentally, he and I just finished an online meeting discussing making this very module.

Does anybody else already have a module in the works? Gus/GHI?

Something like this http://www.sparkfun.com/products/705 with an IDC breakout. Or maybe go with an onboard antenna…

Nothing is done yet but it is on the list.If you guys make it (hardware/software), we will sponsor you as long as you make it open source.

Maybe we should talk about what modules we are doing so there is no double work…let me see.

@ Gus - yes, we should add who’s working on what to the wiki. This one is “low hanging fruit”.

What do you mean by sponsor exactly? We were planning on just making a breakout for the onboard antenna version like this http://iteadstudio.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=53&zenid=p5ib08mkl698ilq9ch2eqfcf82 as a prototype.

It might be just as easy to skip using an existing design and go directly to a gadgeteer form factor. I’m not savvy enough to tune an onboard antenna, so would go with an RP-SMA antenna.