Newbie needs some advice on direction

Hello everyone

I’m new to the microcontroller arena but have some electronics experience in my past.
Our statewide model train organization here has been asked to put up a train display for the holidays. We did this last year as a pilot project to see if we could do it. “if” meant seeing if we could design the display in a very short period of time, then put it up in two days over Thanksgiving weekend walking away hoping that for a month the trains, lighting and animated features worked flawlessly. They actually did.

We used a borrowed Insteon Home Automation system to control everything, the trains (on and off), the lighting in the buildings (dimmers), overhead lighting using Christmas lights (dimmer), controlling the Christmas Music sound track playback (on and off). We found third party software that let us schedule everything. Each of 3 trains ran every 20 minutes (20 on, 40 off) so there was always a train running. It worked very well.
This year the display is about 4 times the size with 5 trains running. The Home Automation was borrowed. This year we would have to buy the whole thing. The hub is $200 and each control circuit starts at $50.

I’ve been playing with Arduino (the model train hobby has been for years) for a few months. But it doesn’t have some easily incorporated features we need. I really don’t want to stack a bunch of shields on each other. I thought about moving to an Arduino Mega or Due because they have more IO options but some things are still lacking. This led me to Netduino which in turn led me to Netduino Go, MNF & Gadgeteer. Netduino Go isn’t sufficient so I started looking at controllers outside the Arduino arena.

I like Gadgeteer because it uses Visual Studio. I’m a web developer by trade and have been using VS since .Net 2.0. I have Ultimate 2013 and the 2015 CTP Versions installed. Working in C# or VB is preferred rather than dusting off 15 year old C coding experience.